Destiny is not yet decided!!!


I’m not sure how destiny works… But, what I do believe is that, our decisions build our future… Dance if you want to, sing if you like to, write if you think you can.. Not because others think you should, not because others think you can.. As it is YOU who will have to live with that choice of becoming a dancer, singer or a writer forever..

What makes me write all this? I am an MBA aspirant and I have been doing my research from a year and a half. I always knew that I can not work under someone for long. I always wanted to employ others, bring a change, & become a writer (3 of my most ‘I really truly want this to happen’ kind of desires).

So first, I thought about how could I achieve all this? The best answer was: Learn management –> Become a business-woman–> Employ others –> Continue writing side by side –> Bring about that “change” with the help of both, management and writing skills!! {What kind of “change” am I going on about? It’s the Indian education system and the future of India. (More about it, later in some random post.)}

Now that I was clear about doing an MBA or else, PGDM (doesn’t really make much difference to me), I had to consider about all the entrance exams that I could appear for.. [Each selection I made, led me to another set of choices.] Then I had to choose among the various coaching classes available.. After which, I had to explore my options for the trainings that I could undergo.. Later, it was about which stream should I specialize in.. And now, that the results are out for various exams (and some are still highly awaited), I’m wondering which college will accept my score, and where should I apply. All of this was not very easy, because all these preferences are going to shape up my future. The number factors that I did consider before shortlisting a few b-schools were many, some of which are:

  • Where is the college situated?
  • Will I be able to afford the fee, will I get a loan sanctioned?
  • Does my choice of stream matches with that university’s flagship program?
  • What is the structure of course curriculum?
  • How strong and proficient the faculty is?
  • What is the culture of that college? Does it reflects within my personality?
  • What all companies come for placements and what profiles do the offer?
  • What has been the average CTC (for freshers in my case) in the past few years?
  • What kind of industrial exposure is provided in the campus?
And many other factors like do my parents know about this b-school, will they let me go? What kind of alumni base does that b-school have? What is their selection criteria? Will I be eligible for the college of my choice? If eligible, will I be able to crack the selection process? Tons and tons of such questions have been swarming in my mind from past few months and this is what made me think about all of this through a more practical yet, philosophical approach. One has to live with their decisions forever, one must be wise while taking one!!
It could be decision regarding whom do you choose to sit with in your primary class? (That person might end up being your best friend for the years to come!!!)
It could be the train you take to travel across your city/country? (That train might be the one which a terrorist group choose to attack the same day!!!)
It could be the subject you take up in your senior school. (Now, this will not only decide your fate, but also that of your family, your nation!!)
It could be the choice of watching some random movie. (It might change your character as a person, if it’s some epic movie like Invictus!!!)
It could be a restaurant you pick for a date, or an outfit you wear for an interview… Just go with your heart, do your research whenever required and once decided, then let it flow… Things will fall into place with their own pace. You will make mistakes, learn from them, mend your ways and move on. And over the years you will realize that what destiny did, was nothing more than showing you the outcome of your choices!!!

About Priyanka Sabu

Love reading, like expressing. Love travelling, like clicking. Love food, but can't cook. Love music, like singing. Love to live in the moment, like dreaming. View all posts by Priyanka Sabu

Leave a comment